top of page

Israel - The Jewish National-State basic Law

Unofficial translation by Dr. Susan Hattis Rolef

Basic Principles

1. (a) The Land of Israel is the historical homeland of the Jewish people, in which the State of Israel was established.
(b) The State of Israel is the nation state of the Jewish People, in which it realizes its natural, cultural, religious and historical right to self-determination.
(c) The exercise of the right to national self-determination in the State of Israel is unique to the Jewish People.

State Symbols

2. (a) The name of the State is "Israel".
(b) The State flag is white, with two light-blue stripes close to the edge, and a light-blue Star of David in its centre.
(c) The State emblem is a seven-branched menorah with olive leaves on both sides, and the word "Israel" at its base.
(d) The State anthem is "Hatikvah".
(e) Details regarding the State symbols shall be determined by law.

State Capital

3. Jerusalem, complete and united, is the capital of Israel.


4. (a) Hebrew is the State language.
(b) The Arabic language has a special status in the State; arrangements regarding the use of Arabic in state institutions or vis-à-vis them will be set by law.
(c) Nothing in this article shall affect the status given to the Arabic language before this law came into force.

Ingathering of the Exiles

5. The State shall be open for Jewish immigration, and for the Ingathering of the Exiles.

The Connection with the Jewish People

6. (a) The State shall strive to ensure the safety of members of the Jewish People and of its citizens, who are in trouble and in captivity, due to their Jewishness or due to their citizenship.
(b) The State shall act, in the Diaspora, to preserve the ties between the State and members of the Jewish People.
(c) The State shall act to preserve the cultural, historical and religious heritage of the Jewish People among Jews in the Diaspora.

Jewish Settlement

7. The State views the development of Jewish settlement as a national value, and shall act to encourage and promote its establishment and strengthening.

Official Calendar

8. The Hebrew calendar is an official calendar of the State, and the Gregorian calendar shall serve alongside it as an official calendar; the use of the Hebrew calendar and the Gregorian calendar shall be determined by law.

Independence Day and Memorial Days

9. (a) Independence Day is the official national holiday of the State.
(b) Memorial Day for the Fallen in Israel's Wars, and the Holocaust Martyrs' and Heroes' Remembrance Day, are official memorial days of the state.

Days of Rest and Statutory Holidays

10. The Sabbath and the Jewish holidays are the established days of rest in the State; non-Jews have the right to observe the days of rest on their days of Sabbath and holidays; details regarding this matter shall be determined by law.


11. This Basic law shall not be modified except by a Basic Law, passed by a majority of the members of the Knesset.

bottom of page